top of page

Memento Mori

"Memento Mori" is a Latin phrase that translates to "remember that you will die" or "remember your mortality." It is a reminder that death is inevitable and that one should not become too attached to the material world. This phrase has been used throughout history as a reminder to live life to the fullest and to prioritize what truly matters in life. In art and literature, "memento mori" often appears as a symbolic reminder of death, such as a skull or an hourglass.

Memorializing death means to honour and remember the deceased through various acts or rituals. It is a way to preserve the memory of a loved one who has passed away and to help those who are grieving to find comfort and closure.

These death rites, or rituals and practices surrounding death are constantly evolving and adapting to cultural, social, and religious changes and are increasingly being influenced by technology and the internet, with virtual funerals and online memorialization becoming more common. Depending on cultural and personal preferences. Some common ways to memorialize death include:

Funerals or memorial services

Personal Tributes



Faith and Tradition

Memorializing death is an important part of the grieving process, as it allows those who are mourning to remember and honour the person who has passed away. It can also bring comfort and healing by providing a sense of closure and helping to keep the memory of the deceased alive.

  • Memorials and Monuments:

  • Remembrance Days

  • Museum Exhibitions

  • Media Coverage

  • Public Arts & Gardens

By preserving the memory of a loved one who has passed away, we can honour their legacy and keep their spirit alive which can be an important part of the grieving process and can help individuals to cope with their loss.

The stages of grief are a series of emotional and psychological responses that people typically experience after experiencing a significant loss. The five stages of grief were first identified by psychiatrist Elisabeth Kubler-Ross in her 1969 book "On Death and Dying.":






It's important to note that these stages are not necessarily linear, and not everyone experiences all of them. Grief is a highly individual experience, and people may move back and forth between stages or experience them in a different order. Additionally, the intensity and duration of grief can vary widely from person to person.

bottom of page